JAN-YOU-AIR-E

3 Feb

530749_502098696500473_353402372_n

As I flipped through my last two weeks of my journal I found that I have been bouncing back and forth between the same two topics…work & Peyton.  I got behind at work, and it weighed on my brain.  I have officially pulled myself out of the weeds though and I am very excited about it.  Life is about balance.  When I am forced to work long hours it messes with my mojo.  When I am super behind I feel like I cannot leave my desk with a clear conscience any earlier than 7pm.  Getting caught up feels so damn good.  Yay me!

I ran the Carlsbad half marathon on January 27, 2013.  I hardly trained at all.  I ran the race in 2 hours and 43 minutes which was only 8 minutes longer than the first half marathon I ran last year.  I genuinely believe that running is more mental than anything.  It definitely helps that I am the most stubborn woman alive.  When I put my mind to something I get it done no matter what.  This was proven beyond a reasonable doubt as I sprinted towards the mile 13 marker.  Despite the fun I had, I think my running days are over.  It is my least favorite form of exercise and I think its time to focus my energy on a routine that I don’t dread.

20130127 005

I made the mistake of stepping on a scale this weekend and WOOOOOWZA the number that popped up frightened me.  I need to get on a serious health kick.  I used to be beyond dedicated and consistent with my gym routine.  I fell into some really bad habits and I have been having a really hard time breaking them.  The number I saw scared me though so its time to get real and be smarter about my choices.  I want to feel good about my body.  The extra layer on me right now is hiding my sexy.  Time to bring sexy back.

My boyfriend, Mike, is out of town for the entire week visiting with his family in Tahoe.  He has sent me many pictures of my adorable nieces and him having all sorts of fun.  Sienna & Riley are too cute for words.  While I do miss him terribly, the one bonus to having him away is I get to go into super OCD mode.  I cleaned the house on Saturday.  Fluffed the pillows, folded the towels, and made the beds just how I like.  Allowing my OCD to “fire on high” brings me a strange joy for some reason.  It’s just how I’m wired.  Hooray for a clean Tree House.

picstitch (1)

I have come to the conclusion that I have the coolest neighbors on earth.  Contessa Kerry, my landlord & friend, threw a Mexican fiesta yesterday in celebration of our avocados being ripe.  Tequila, enchiladas, and guac…OH MY!  The party was so much fun.  When I crawled into bed later that night, I couldn’t help but feel super lucky to live where I do.  This morning, Jill, my other neighbor came over and gave me a massage for free.  One of her classes she is taking at school requires her to give two massages a week.  I told her that I would happily be her guinea pig.  My neighbors are the best.  I am so blessed to have such fun, AHHHMAZING peeps right outside my door.

The 49ers lost the Super Bowl today and I’m not going to lie to you, I’m SUPER BUMMED about it.  My throat is super sore from screaming at the TV.  While I am not always too interested in football I paid particular attention this season because I wanted the SF Giants and the Niners to win in the same season.  I wanted two parades.  I wanted that moment for San Francisco (which is 45 minute South of where I grew up).  I finally understand the pain the Detroit Tigers must have felt when they lost to the Giants.  As I sat on the couch with my friends from back home we all bitterly watched the purple confetti shower down upon the Super Dome in silence.  We joked about how weird it felt to not be celebrating.  My girlfriend said, “This is what losers feel like”.  We all laughed.  Out here in San Diego, I am used to watching the Chargers (who always lose) so this feeling is not new to me at all when it comes to football.  Fingers crossed for next year.  GO NINERS!

photo (18)

I am heading to San Jose on Friday, February 8, 2013, to see my perfect nephew, Peyton again.  My family is throwing a party for him to make up for his missed baby showers.  I’m really looking forward to seeing my family.  Peyton is my obsession right now so any excuse to fly up to the Bay Area is good enough for me.  He is a local celebrity and Auntie Erin is his biggest fan.

I hope you all are finding happiness in everything you do.  I can’t believe the twist and turns that the first month of 2013 has brought my way.  Its been a doozy.  It has been helping me tremendously to take a step back and find The Happy though.

20121228 007

One Response to “JAN-YOU-AIR-E”

  1. Betsy February 4, 2013 at 6:32 am #

    Isn’t it wild how much can happen in a month if you just stop and look at it for a second!??! I always feel that way too. Good luck on your sexy brigade! I hope February is equally action packed XO

Leave a Reply

