Worry Less. Smile More.

9 Mar

photo

By nature, I worry.  It’s something I struggle with.  I hit some bumps in the road the last few weeks and it turned me into a not so pleasant person to be around.  When my feelings of anxiety and worry bubble up, I need to remember to take a moment to reevaluate my outlook; I have had to dig deep at points lately.  But, that’s okay because that is life.  Having my Happiness Project keeps my eye on the prize.  The glass is half full…hopefully of buttery chardonnay or Baileys in my case.  I’m not going to bore you with the bumps.  That’s not what my blog is about.  It’s about the yummy stuff…so here it goes.

photo(1)

I spent sometime with my gal pals in Orange County a few weekends ago.  My dear friend, Chow, calls herself Mommy to Gemma, the dog that famously went missing in San Diego on New Years Eve.  While visiting we had the pleasure of taking Gemma to the dog park in Laguna Beach.  As I watched Gemma run and play with the dogs, I was incredibly pleased to see that no mater how far Gemma ran off she always kept an eye on where her Mom was.  This was a far cry from her having zero idea who she belonged to when she went missing.  It warmed my heart to watch Gemma play so happily.  I’m still so grateful that we found her.  Gemma has what we like to call “50 First Dates Syndrome”.  She will be super sweet with you all day and night but when she wakes up in the morning she has no idea who you are.  She’s a total 10 second Tom.  She lives a charmed life for sure.  The sad life she had before she was adopted by Chow and Jez is long behind her.

417645_10151739574102345_645742015_n

My step Dad, Gary, had to make a surprise visit to San Diego for business after my trip to Orange County.  We had a great time together.  It’s always fun to have family in town.  That is one of the big struggles Mike and I have as we settle more and more into our lives in San Diego.  We had never planned on staying here permanently.  As success happens and we settle into our lives, the idea of moving back to the Bay Area seems less likely.  Only time will tell.  For now, we are staying put to our family’s dismay.  It’s always fun to meet family for dinner though and hear about their day to day activities.  We miss the casualness of that.  Gary is the best.  We had many laughs over dinner.  I hope his work sending him to San Diego becomes a regular thing.  Has my vote FO SHO!  Here is a pic of us all together; Gary’s eyes are closed.  Shocker!

487201_10151720113787345_299294354_n

I really love my job.   I’ve been hitting the gap Kool-Aid hard.  Things just have been going really well.  My company, gap intelligence, is so much fun it blows my mind sometimes.  Our CEO gave the entire company the day off in celebration of gap’s 10th Birthday.  At gap intelligence we work so hard, but we play even harder.  We had the most incredible night toasting ten years at the stunningly gorgeous Prado in Balboa Park.  It was so fitting to watch the sunset over one of the best back drops in San Diego.  I feel so grateful to be a part of something so special.  gap intelligence is building a company based on culture and it is so awesome to be a part of it.  I have been bestowed the privilege of manning our companies Facebook account as well as our Instagram account.  It brings me so much joy to share what gap is up to with the world.  Social media is like a digital scrapbook that captures all of life’s memories.  As I drained the battery on my iPhone skipping around the party Instagraming pictures I couldn’t have been happier.

66965_10151276138646020_1648807473_n

I had the privilege of dinning at the impossible to get a seat at Cellar Door last Sunday.  I brought my boyfriend, Mike, and celebrity couple, The Smellons, as my guests.  We stopped at Polite Provisions before dinner to enjoy a cocktail on our double date night.  Polite Provisions is SAAAAWEEEEET!  Such a cool vibe in that bar…definitely check it out if you are in the San Diego area.  With Cellar Door it’s kind of a gamble because you are dinning with total strangers.  But as the owners of Cellar Door explained, most people that are into that idea are open to meeting new people and making new friends.  The theme of the dinner was Birds of a Feather.  It was 6 courses of sheer bliss.  We had everything from duck to squab and all were lick your plate clean delish!  Can’t wait to go back!

486827_10151735234697345_167131436_n

Mike and I have been having a lot of fun together lately in the little amount of time we can carve out for each other each week.  We’ve been making the most of our time with bike rides, movie dates, and laughs.  He’s my best friend and I love him so much.  Just wanted to go on record saying that.

I’m very excited for today because I get to dog sit my other boyfriend, Charlie.  He’s the cutest dog on earth and I can’t wait to pick him up!  I have all sorts of fun activities planned for him (fingers crossed the weather cooperates).  My girlfriend, Mere, said that she took him to the groomers this week to make sure he was extra handsome for me.  I hope Mike doesn’t get to jealous when he is bumped to the #2 slot this weekend.  Other irons that are on the fire are my dear friend, Bridge’s, 30th Birthday Picnic tomorrow!  Can’t wait to celebrate 30 years of one of the coolest gals I know.  Happy Dirty 30, Bridgy!  Next weekend, gap intelligence is hosting a golf tournament at the Riverwalk Golf Club.  We have been planning this tournament for over a year so I am so excited to see all of our hard work FINALLY pay off.  It’s going to be fun fun fun!  On St. Patrick’s Day, The Smellons, are hosting a tiny get together.  The Irish themed brunch will include the new (not so Irish) Lay’s potato chips: Chicken & Waffles, Sriracha, and Cheesy Garlic Bread.  I’ve been on the hunt for these chips for some time.  The chance to finally eat them will be GLORIOUS.  I start a serious detox on March 18th so I have been calling St. Patty’s “Last Chance Fat Meal” (Smalls terminology).  Last Chance Meal will be epic.

Hope life is treating all of you well.  Take a moment to think about all the things in your life that make you happy.  Now smile.  Thanks for reading!  xoxoxoxo

Blog 1

One Response to “Worry Less. Smile More.”

  1. lexie123 March 10, 2013 at 12:54 am #

    Another heart warming and beautiful blog, just like Author Erin

Leave a Reply

