We Be Brunchin’

20 Mar

531739_10151760048507345_67074833_n

As I flipped through my journal last night to get my blog creativity flowing through my veins, I was quite happy reflecting on the fun I’ve had.  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again, my friends are the mostest funnest people on earth. I feel like I am in this super awesome movie with the best supporting cast…I just wish I knew the ending at times.  That would be nice but I guess that would ruin all the fun.

398775_10151746548047345_194891218_n

Watching Sir Charles, my dear friends beloved Shih Tzu was a delight.  Charlie has personality for daaaaaaaaays.  San Diego is such a dog friendly town.  I took Charlie everywhere with me.  He was quite the hit at Nordstoms and without a doubt that was his favorite adventure we went on.  He loved Nordys way more than the dog park.  He is a true gentleman dog.  He does not understand the point of running around with a bunch of slobbering animals.  He is above such activities.  He prefers something more refined.  I just loved having a buddy to snuggle with and watch movies.  I tell Charlie’s Mom and Dad all the time that they really struck gold with Charlie.  It is such a treat to borrow their pup since I can’t have a dog where I live.  Mike finds it quite hilarious that I went from wanting a Bull Mastiff to a Shih Tzu.  It’s a huge departure.  Charlie stole my heart though.  When I get a dog someday, if he has half the charm that Charlie has I will be lucky.

577273_10151748995432345_922345425_n

My nearest and dearest, Brigid, turned purdy 30 two weekends ago.  She held a low key picnic to celebrate with all of her friends.  We had a fantastic time enjoying the San Diego sun.  It was the perfect day for it.  She was overwhelmed when her brother surprised her.  It was so sweet to see her blown away at when he arrived at Bird Park.  We had such a fantastic day we made a pact that this summer we would spend our weekends at Bird Park.  I am all for low key fun these days.  It shall be GLORIOUS.  I can’t wait for summer!  Whoop!  Whoop!

45462_10151749162977345_394125529_n

My company, gap intelligence, threw a golf tournament, Drives for Rides, to benefit the Emilio Nares Foundation on March 15.  The 3Ts is the charity committee at gap and I am one of the members.  We have been exhaustively planning this tournament for well over a year.  It was awesome to see it all come to fruition.  The tournament went off without a hitch.  We raised over $10,000 for the Emilio Nares Foundation.  The Emilio Nares Foundation was founded when Richard and Diane Nares lost their only son, Emilio, after his long difficult battle with cancer.  After losing their precious son, they decided that they wanted Emilio’s legacy to be something positive.  Richard and Diane started out small.  It began with them giving children and their family’s rides to doctors appointments in their own personal cars.  These are kids that would have taken the bus for hours to make their treatments otherwise.  Next they got a van, and then another van…it grew from there.  They run so many different programs that help underprivileged families whose children are battling cancer.  The foundation does so much and we just gave them a major bonus to do so much more.  I feel honored to have the privilege to help them.  We are going to double down for next year!

golf

On a lighter note at the tournament while I was a busy-bee buzzing around working hard, I somehow managed to be in the perfect spot at the perfect time.  I rolled up as my boyfriend, Mike, hit a super SAAAWEEEET shot from the tee to the green on a par 3.  Everyone was yelling and asking if I saw his shot.  He was beaming and so proud.  I stood back and smiled as he got a birdie.  I was so excited to witness his moment and even more excited to see that one of the photographers captured it on film.

580651_10151760175717345_1249372012_n

The rest of my weekend brought brunch fun fun fuuuuuuun.  I had the pleasure of enjoying champagne brunch with Mere, Smalls, & Char on Saturday morning.  We had a great time catching up.  We went through two bottles of champagne with ease.  Time flies when you are having fun with your girls.  Charlie sure enjoyed begging for a bite from the surrounding tables.  He is just wasting away; so deprived.  Saturday night brought a fajita feast with the whole gang.  Chow and Jez came down from the OC to partake in the fun.  St. Patrick’s Day Brunch at Casa Smellon was all it was dreamed to be.  It started with a Guiness cake, and exploded from there.  All brunch fare had an Irish spin on it.  I devoured every bit of it.  The grand finale was the much sought after Lays potato chips.  We even did a chips cheers.  The fav hands down was the cheesy garlic bread.  The chicken & waffle chips were weird.  Not my jam.  The sriracha chips would have been good, IF you covered them in sriracha.  Not my jam either.  We ate our faces off at Monkey Paw at the final curtain call of #lastchancefatmeal.  As I laid my head on my pillow that night I was uncomfortably full, but incredibly happy.

164231_10151763949697345_414611304_n

578810_10151763950317345_1058997289_n

So, the RDdetox started on Monday.  Mike and I both signed up for it AGAIN.  I’m hoping to jolt my system.  So far, I’m feeling pretty good but I’m only on day three so it’s probably too early to call it.  The plan is to spring clean our house while we are renewing our commitment to fitness as well.  I have a fake clean house.  It looks clean on the surface, but if you open a drawer or closet it’s a big mess.  As far as things to I’m looking forward to, I’m heading to the OC this weekend for some fun with friends.  We are going to hike and relax.  They live in the burbs in the cutest house and I always look forward to visiting them.  It gives me something to look forward to all week.  I have nothing planned for Easter weekend and I am going to try to keep it that way.  I need a weekend of nothing to recharge my batteries.

What has been bringing you joy in your life lately?  Hope your life is bringing a smile to your face.  xoxoxoxo

Fix

P.S. I want to thank my Grandma Connie & my Seeeeester, Savann, for their thoughtfulness.  You know what each of you did and I love you both so much for it.

Leave a Reply

