When Are You Going to Get Married?

14 May

2291695623_5f41b1ef66_z

This blog is dedicated to anyone in a serious long term relationship that is not married.  

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Mike and I have two trips planned back to back over the next couple of weekends. We will be spending time with family and friends. We rarely get to travel together due to our opposite work schedules so I am really looking forward to our trips.  Its going to be such a treat and I’m so excited to see everyone (ESP Peyton).

With all family trips Mike and I get hammered with the same question over and over:

“When are you going to get married?”

This is a question that total strangers feel warranted asking upon learning that we have been dating for 7 ½ years (Yes, I we are aware that is a very long time).

Mike and I fell in love super-fast. We said the BIG “I love you” three weeks into our courtship. We moved in together in June of 2006 after dating for about eight months. We pumped the gas on every other aspect of our relationship; we have pumped the brakes on marriage though.

As children of divorced families, we both have always felt it was best to triple check that this was it. We both never ever ever want to get a divorce.

I knew that Mike was “the one” when I met him.  I felt it in my heart as soon as we began our romance.  Everything about Mike was different.  As they say, “when you know, you know”.  It’s still good to make sure though.  If time was going to make us grow apart as I’d rather of gone through a breakup than a divorce; I believe living with someone shows you who they really are.  It’s the best way to test drive that marriage will work.

sparkler_love_landscape

So this is my disclaimer before I head into the lion’s den: we will get married when the time is right for us. Just to give everyone plenty of warning so there is no big shock, we do not want a big wedding. My preference would be to (GASP!) elope. The most important thing that everyone needs to know about Mike and my relationship is that we love each other unconditionally. I don’t know what I would do without such an amazingly supportive partner in life. We may not have the piece of paper saying that we are married but we act and think like a married couple every day.

I have been told by my married friends that the questions never end.  If it’s not, “when are you going to get married”, then it’s, “when are you going to have kids”.  When you have kids it’s, “when are you going to have ANOTHER kid”. The questions just never end.

Someday, Mike will ask me.  He knows the answer will be a Y-E-S.  I love him.  He loves me.  That’s how it’s always going to be.  Our commitment to each other has remained that same even after all this time.  We are happy and in love and that’s what’s most important.

photo (2)

Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

