I Slept With Mrs. B.

31 Aug

ev

Sh*t. I did. I slept with her. It happened. I slept with my best friend’s mom.

YIKES! Get your mind out of the gutter. Not that kind of slept with. Sheeeesh. I star fished on top of the bed fully clothed. The bed was big. I will give more details in a bit. Keep reading you pervs.

It’s been a hot minute since I spit hot fire via my blog. I decided that I wanted to post on the very last day of the month. Sorry for keeping you waiting. I felt a bit flattered when you asked what the holdup was. I was thrilled to know you were waiting. It trips me out when I look at my journal. With only four months left in the year it’s crazy to see the ribbon book mark split the book less and less. Life is crazy but awesome. Here is the run down for your reading pleasure as promised…

PRIDE was an amazingly fun day. The gayborhood brings the fun every time. I just want to go on record that I am happy that my bestie and I are both in love with men comfortable enough in their own skin to go gay bar hopping in Hillcrest during the height of rainbow-ness. Not all men are that secure unfortunately. We had so much fun. We capped it off with a fun night at The Tree House and a no hitter from the Giants’ Tim Lincecum. You can’t put a better bow on an already fun day.

20130815 013

20130815 025

1000982_10151972516212345_1687877348_n

Life is beautiful. It hits you like a ton of bricks though when you are looking at the face of a tini-tiny baby. We were bestowed the luxury of meeting Baby Lafe (Mike’s Birthday Buddy) the day after PRIDE. Let’s just say he is beyond perfection. I will babysit for you any time. I genuinely mean that. Really. REALLY. I do.

1005297_10151974993742345_117174510_n

One of my nearest and dearest is my bestie Aaric. I met Aaric when I was 17 years old in San Jose. He is a rare soul because everyone (and I mean EVERYONE) in my family adores him. He is besties with my brother, Pablo, as well as me. Aaric and his entire family are invited to parties by both sides of my family. That is rare. I spent a really fun night catching up with him watching a Giants game at The Tree House. It was awesome. He just lights up my whole life. I think it’s necessary to put that in writing.

So if you are here just because you want the deets about how I ended up sleeping with my besties Mom, this is the paragraph for you. I mentioned last month that I was looking forward to catching up with Mrs. B. She was making the very very long flight from Australia to get a jump on wedding planning in California. Many MAJOR wedding decisions were made. I’m sworn to secrecy by the code all bridesmaids take. I know nothing and if I tell you, I have to kill you, and I mean it. After all these major life decisions were made we found it necessary to toast the awesomeness more than a few times. When the love of my life informed me that he would be staying at his friends for the night I decided that I would stay at Smalls. Little did I know, Mrs. B. was weaving a tangled web. I kid! I kid! I passed out on the guest bed. It was 100% nothing to be alarmed by. It’s the best thing ever to say though, “I slept with Mrs. B”. There is just something about it that is soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo FUNNY! Cheers to sleeping in pink jeans that are way too tight. I woke up with maps all over my legs when I finally peeled those suckers off. Nonetheless, as expected I had the best time catching up with Small and Chow’s Mum. We even hosted a special night for her before she left San Diego at The Tree House. I lit a bazzilion candles and Chef Hartman manned the kitchen. We dined alfresco. It was perfection.

1012725_10152002625997345_67269842_n

I don’t want to go into too many details because I believe talking about work is the most boring thing a person can talk about but I am completely caught up right now. I am actually more than caught up, I am ahead. It feels good. I hate being in the weeds.

I have said it before and I will say it again: I LOVE BASEBALL. My loyalty falls in line with any bay area team first and foremost. After that I will root for the Padres. Laying in bed on Sunday, August 4th, Mike mentioned that he really wished we bought tickets to see the Padres versus the Yankees. He was bummed because the game was sold out. I accepted his challenge instantly. These tickets may be sold out for the masses but not for a beloved gapper of gap intelligence. We logged in and what did we see, tickets. They may have been considered nose bleeds but we bought them regardless just to enjoy some summer baseball fun. To our shock and awe, these seats blew our mind. We were directly behind home plate in the upper deck. These seats were GLORIOUS. We had a BEYOND wonderful time soaking up the sight, sounds, and smells of the park. It was the perfect Sunday with the perfect guy. Sometimes it’s good to be reminded why you fell in love with someone. This was def one of those days.

20130815 088

62432_10102583502856397_1960940893_n

My neighborhood held a block party to commemorate National Night Out. This amazing ally side pot luck fun was quite the spectacle. If you want to make your neighbors awesome, add wine. My lovely friend/awesome-land-lady, Contessa K., was the perfect date. She supplied the food; I just pretended to be a contributor. Any night with the Contessa gets an A+ from me. We learned all about safety in our neighborhood. I got a thumbs up from the police to sit on my roof with a paint ball gun and blast the hoodlums that keep graffiti-ing the ally next to my house. You think I’m kidding. It’s so happening.

20130815 103

Mike and I often worry that at some point we will be kicking ourselves for not taking full advantage of living right next door to Balboa Park. Through the wonders of social media we learned of a sunrise yoga class and decided that all though early we had to rally. It was awe inspiring to enjoy yoga in such a serene setting. We love where we have made our home. We have it good.

20130815 110

20130815 112

I had a long chat with my Bestie from UCSB. She encouraged me to start making more time for myself. I have a tendency to put all of my focus and energy into those I love. Her recommendation was to start hiking. I took her advice wholeheartedly. There are canyons right next to my house. Mags is in the process of becoming a real life shrink. She is smoking hot and smoking smart. It’s wonderful because she shrinks all the mazzilion crazy thoughts that pop into my crazy head for free. I am grateful for her friendship after all these years. A trip to visit face to face is long overdue. Mags, I took these for you…

20130815 099

20130815 101

The Mellons, Pedro’s fam bam, came to San Diego all the way from the UK. When you look up incredible family in the dictionary, you see a picture of them. We had a brilliant time touring San Diego with Pedro’s Mum, Dad, Bro, & Sis (a fellow bridesmaid in the Smellon Weddon as well). To say we were sad they left would be an understatement. The only solace we have is knowing they will be back a bunch with the wedding on the horizon next year. The Mogels heart the Mellons! We need more Mellons in our daily diet!

20130815 143

I want to take a moment to give snaps to those friends that I can be 100% honest with. Some friends can’t handle honesty. It’s great to have people in your life that you don’t have to be guarded with. I had a few low points happen and I was able to lean on a rare few awesome peeps that lifted me right back up. You know who you are and I love you oh so much.

My gorgeous office roommate, C~BO, and I had a lovely gals night at the San Diego Padres WineFest at Petco Park. The wine was flowing and we took full advantage. This was our first night out on the town together. We capped it off at the new downtown hot spot Bang Bang that is famous for many reasons. One of their claims to fame in the beloved Ryan Gossling ladies room. It was a magical moment for both of us. I’m sure the bathroom attendant thought we were full on insane. HUGE HUGE HUGE thank you to Sarini for passing her tickets our way. It’s good to be a gapper.

1098078_10152048328657345_447626564_n

20130815 163

20130815 178

20130815 180

I’m alone a lot because my boyfriend and I have opposite schedules. Sometimes it gets me down. It can be a bit lonely. I decided to stop dwelling on it though and focus on the positive. When you don’t have to consult any one on your plans, you can do whatever you want. There is no one to compromise with. That is the upside. As I was lying on the couch one night I decided to enjoy the wonderful proximity I live to Balboa Park by hopping on my Tangerine Dream Machine (my bike) to enjoy a silent movie at Speckles Organ Pavilion. I was surprised at how many people had my same idea. There were easily 200+ people there. As I perched near my bike I wanted to give myself a round of applause for not allowing myself to be lonely and making the most of my night. I did not, because that would be weird. But I could have.

20130820 027

20130820 029

The Summer Sirens Dinner at the Carnitas Snack Shack was a night to remember. Stars aligned and we had a highly sought after couples date night with the very popular Haleys. The Haleys are the super fun couple that you are always trying to make plans with but they are so popular they are always booked. I was beyond ecstatic when they were free for a night of fun. We had a great time enjoying the MOST delicious dinner prepared by the best of the best SD chefs all while supporting a more than worthy cause. We were so photogenic (because we were beaming with fun) that our lovely limbs have made the coveted position as Carnitas Snack Shack’s cover photo on Facebook. Cheers to that!

20130820 033

20130820 036

20130820 034

For those of you that are friends with me on Facebook my solo road trip got a lot of air time. I guess the idea of taking a road trip BY YOURSELF scared people. I got a lot of questions like, “were you bored”. The answer is a very loud HELL TO THE NO. I am making a resolution from this day forward to do a solo road trip every year. I had so much fun stopping where ever I wanted to snap pictures. I didn’t need to get a vote on where to eat. I love to listen to club jams while I am driving. I pumped up my jams at full volume and sung my way all the way to Paso Robles. I had a soul renewing visit with my oldest friend, Sarahbutt, and her AHHHHHHMAZING family, the Tyras. They opened up their stunning Paso Robles getaway for a weekend of summer fun. It was a wonderful weekend full of laughter. As I headed back down the 101, I took time to stop in San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach, and Los Alamos before heading to my favorite place on Earth, Santa Barbara. I capped of a perfect day with dinner with the Nagelmanns at their family fave, the Croc. I just adore them so and it was so great to catch up. Diamond Dee and I are kindred spirits; we just vibe. After a hike the next morning, I enjoyed a perfect summer day at Butterfly Beach before heading home to San Diego. That was the icing on the already delicious cake. I came home to my wonderful boyfriend cooking me dinner just because he missed me. It doesn’t get any more special than that.

20130820 057

1236906_10152072169672345_1652257621_n

20130820 101

1239807_10152067742357345_1036855103_n

20130820 108

20130820 115

945184_10152070282237345_1917854453_n

20130820 157

My Summer Bucket list is not complete. That is something that has been weighing on me. I want to blog it at ya all at once. Lucky for me I live in San Diego. Labor Day weekend does not mean that summer is over for me. Expect a blog soon covering all the summer bucket list magic.

This weekend the light of my entire universe is taking his first plane ride EVER to come stay with Auntie Erin and Unto Mito at The Tree House. I am beyond thrilled to see him. My big brother warned me that I should be prepared to see him because Peyton is “large and in charge”. He weighed in at 17 pounds at his last doctor’s appointment. I’m so excited to have him here. That little man just makes my heart so happy; its nuts! The weekend has so many fun events planned and I am already preparing myself for the tears when he has to leave us and go back home. If you find baby pics annoying, block me now. I may break Facebook.

1230083_542434635822921_117414750_n

Stay happy. Be happy. Find your happy. Thank you for reading.

2 Responses to “I Slept With Mrs. B.”

  1. Lisa August 31, 2013 at 9:21 am #

    Keep em coming! I truly do enjoy your blog. Off to find my happy!! LUV YA!

  2. Connie Centeno Quigley September 6, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

    Erin, love reading your blog. Keep up the good work. This is one way I can keep up to what my granddaughter is doing. Love you. Grandma Q.

Leave a Reply

