The Legacy of Mallory Rae

11 Dec

photo (5)

How does one recover from a loss like this? The reality of it is, you don’t. You are never quite the same.  A part of you will always be missing.  A piece of your heart will never stop aching.  Happy moments that unfold before you will seem a little less bright because she is not here to share them with you.  The world will always seem a little duller.

I wish I didn’t understand what all of you are going through.  I have been in your shoes though.  I lost my best friend, Sarah Hurth, over 9 years ago.  I still miss her every day.  I often wonder how different things might have been had Sarah not left us too soon.

Watching Mallory’s heart breaking story unfold before my eyes brought about a deep routed sadness in me.  It stirred up many feelings and memories.  It also made me want to try to help in some small way.

Mallory’s Dad said the best way to honor his precious daughter is to NEVER drink & drive AND to never allow anyone else to do the same.

The blog I wrote yesterday (Mallory Rae) including her father’s plea has been viewed over 23,000 times.  It has been viewed in the following 12 countries outside of the United States:  United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, Germany, Brazil, Spain, France, Mexico, Sweden, Ireland, Israel, and Saudi Arabia.

Over 50,000 people have viewed Mallory’s CaringBridge.  The Mallory Rae Support Page has been bombarded with thousands of heartfelt messages since the second it was launched and the likes for it are growing by the minute.

How on earth does a gal like Mallory make such a huge dent in the universe?

It’s simple.  She’s awesome.

Mallory was a clearly very rare special soul.  A great light as gone out and she will be missed deeply forever.  Heaven has gained an angel despite our wishes to keep her here with us.  I prayed so hard that Mallory Rae Dies LIVES would be the outcome.  The heavens above have another plan though even if it breaks our hearts to accept it.

The poem below helped me in my darkest hour 9 years ago.  It was sent to me by a total stranger.  I read it as a part of Sarah’s eulogy.  I hope it will give you a small sliver of peace as you wade through the grief of losing Mallory.

– – – – – – –

To my dearest family, some things I’d like to say, but first of all to let you know that I am okay.

I’m writing this from heaven, where I dwell with God above, where there’s no more tears or sadness, only eternal love.

Please do not be unhappy just because I’m out of sight, remember I am with you every morning, noon, and night.

The day I had to leave you when my life on Earth was through, God picked me up and hugged me and said “I welcome you.  It’s good to have you back again, you were missed while you were gone.  As for your dearest family, they’ll be here later on.”

Then God gave me a list of things he wished for me to do, and foremost on that list of mine was to watch and care for you.

When you think of my life on Earth, all those loving years, because you’re only human they are bound to bring you tears.

But do not be afraid to cry, it does relieve the pain, remember there could be no flowers unless there was some rain.

– – – – – – –

Mallory will live on forever in the hearts of those that loved her so.  As her story continues to spread, her infectious smile and spirit will continue to steal more and more hearts each day.

I believe Mallory’s LEGACY is to love hard and laugh even harder.  Let the Dies families loss be the tragedy that keeps anyone from driving under the influence again.  Let this tragedy be what fuels your courage to stop someone else from making the same mistake.  Mallory deserved better than this.  She deserved to be old and gray with a lifetime of memories behind her instead of having her life cut short so senselessly.

There are four ways you can honor Mallory’s memory:

1) Share her story.  She was too special not to.

2) Wear yellow.  It was Mallory’s favorite color.

3) Use proper grammar.  Mallory’s friends say she was a stickler for it (I apologize for the errors in this blog).

4) Donate to the Dies Family via Fundly (no amount is too small) so they can pay for Mallory’s medical bills, memorial service, and take however much leave they need from work to grieve.  Let’s knock the goal out of the park so the financial burden will be one less thing they have to worry about.  The video of Mallory on this link will melt your heart:  https://fundly.com/support-for-mallory-rae

I want to say thank you everyone that has shared Mallory’s story.  How far it has reached is powerful.  I also want to say thank you to her friends and family that continued to update everyone on her progress over the last 6 days.  I don’t know how you found the strength to do so.

I want to send my deepest condolences to the Dies family and Mallory’s many friends.  You will all remain in my prayers.  I will continue to send lots of love and positive energy to Santa Barbara from San Diego.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

To stay up to date on Mallory’s story and fundraisers please follow this page via Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/MalloryRaeSupport

Peter Lance: https://vogelshappinessproject.wordpress.com/2014/04/13/peter-lance-4mal/

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

4 Responses to “The Legacy of Mallory Rae”

  1. DeEtte Araujo December 12, 2013 at 7:54 am #

    In regard to Mallory’s medical bills…there is a fund set up for victims of violence that may be able to help the family. I have a friend who benefitted from this program, so if the Dies family would like more information, please let me know. The Dies family is in my thoughts and prayers….such a heartbreaking and senseless tragedy.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Contagious Happiness | Vogel's Happiness Project - December 22, 2013

    […] feel it is only appropriate to begin this blog by touching on the “Rae” of sunshine that is Mallory Rae Dies (I also want to mention that Mallory’s last name is pronounced “Des”).  It’s been 11 days […]

  2. 365 Sentences | Vogel's Happiness Project - December 31, 2013

    […] I carry the memory of Sarah Faye Hurth with me every day.  The short but powerful life of Mallory Rae Dies awakened something within me.  I felt helpless when I lost Sarah.  Being able to help those that […]

  3. Peter Lance ~ #4MAL | Vogel's Happiness Project - April 13, 2014

    […] Lois Capps and her staff played in the cover up surrounding the passing of Mallory Rae Dies. Mallory’s blogs continue to receive heavy traffic daily. Please continue to share her story and follow this series […]

Leave a Reply

