$0’s for this Sailor

29 Mar

images

I haven’t been able to stop swearing. It’s hopeless. I’m changing my thinking. They are no longer swear words, they are adult words. I will continue to lock it up when necessary but other than that I am going to continue with my sailor like ways. Having never spent any time with a real life sailor that drops F bombs I’m not sure what exactly that means. If you are a sailor that swears, I’d love to meet you. Please comment below so we can connect.

photo-7

So much has happened since we last chatted. Where should I begin? I guess at the beginning makes the most sense, huh. Soooooooo, here it goes…

Pop Champagne

Hartman landed an amazing new job that allows us to spend more time together. He is more of a closed book than me so I won’t give too many details other than that things have seemed to worked out better than imagined. We have taken advantage having more time by enjoying San Diego to the fullest. It is so much fun living in a vacation destination. Having time with him has made it very clear to me that I am on this journey called life with my best friend. The rough waters have been weathered and we are enjoying calm seas for the time being and I am just delighted. I am lucky to call him my guy. He’s pretty cool.

20140208 001

1.1

1.22

1.2

1.5

1.4

2.0

Baby Aidan

My brother has this amazing group of friends that have remained close for many years. They call themselves the “10th Street Mafia”. It has been such a joy watching them go from wild parties, to parenthood. I had the pleasure of meeting the newest member of the crew, Baby Aidan Martin, in February. It’s quite hilarious how most of his friends keep popping out boys. Aidan is cute as could be. I was mesmerized at how the new parents were handling a few challenges that were thrown their way with such ease. Congrats to the Hickersons! The Hickerson mojo has a new generation to get in all sorts of trouble. I know Uncle Aaric will spoil him rotten.

2

2.1

Santa Barbara

I went on a rather wild super quick girl’s trip to Santa Barbara in celebration of my friend Zoa’s Birthday. The events that unfolded on this trip were fun with a capital “F”. It should be illegal to have as much fun as we did. I ‘sort of’ chronicled the debauchery in my last blog so check that out if you want more details. I did embellish. You make the call on what is fact and what is fiction.

5

8

6

7.1

7

Paying Respects

I received a large box in the mail recently and I was perplexed as to what it could be. When I opened it to discover a plethora of #VOW4MAL goodies I was thrilled. I dug through the box with tears in the corners of my eyes. The reach of Mallory Rae has been so powerful. They have taken a loss that could have been viewed as meaningless and turned it into something so incredibly meaningful. I took time out of my Santa Barbara weekend to pay my respects to Miss Mal. I left yellow flowers and a note letting her know that she still means so much to so many. The work her namesake foundation is doing is epic. The world is a better place because she was in it. P.S. I don’t believe in coincidences. Everything happens for a reason. Miss Mallory Rae worked her magic on her birthday, March 20th. The official International Day of Happiness was her way of telling those whose hearts long for her so much to smile through the tears. It gave me chills to see that bright yellow post.

4

4.2

4.1

5.1

Happy Birthday, Ash

I have a handful of friends in San Diego that I have been friends with since I was a teenager in San Jose. Sometimes it’s hard to keep in touch though. The craziness of life can get in the way. My friend Ashley and I met when I was 18. She also shared a best friend in Sarah Hurth. When her husband invited me to a surprise birthday party for Ashley I jumped at it. The last time I saw them was at my 30th Birthday Party in San Francisco (GIGANTES!). Mike and I decided to get a hotel near the birthday party instead of taking expensive UBERs from downtown to San Marcos. It was great to cheers Ash on her birthday and reconnect. I am looking forward to many more fun San Diego outings together in the future. Please also note that all of the pictures below feature a stolen Adirondack chair. We pissed of our neighbors whose chair we stole at the hotel and the management staff for sure. We probably have been banned for life.

9.1

9

10.1

10

San Francisco

Due to an over loaded schedule in December, I unfortunately had to miss my college bestie’s 30th Birthday. I promised Maggie I would make it up to her with a trip to see her within a few months. She picked a weekend that she wouldn’t be drowning in school and work so she could show me a good time. She def brought her ‘A’ game in fun activity planning. The weekend was flippin’ AWESOME. Her friends were all so welcoming; I felt like I had known them for years. I left a piece of my heart right on the golden gate bridge.

11

12

13

10 Years

The anniversary of my bestie’s passing is fast approaching. We still miss her dearly after all this time. Her family has decided to throw a party in her honor. It’s going to be a trip to see so many people that I haven’t seen in so long. She wouldn’t have had it any other way. I can’t believe it’s going to be 10 years. I have been thinking about her more than ever lately. Some stories make me smile so big. We used to do the craziest things. Oh, to be young again. Sarah Faye Hurth, this party is going to be LEGIT. A true celebration of everything you stood for.

17

Baseball Season

I bleed orange and black. I love my GIGANTES. My company has season tickets so I end up going to a lot of Padres games even if they are not my team. I try to go when the Giants are in town but that’s only a handful of times a year.  Mike and I are headed to opening night tomorrow and I am so excited.  I will be there to route against the Dodgers.  I will lead the chant on “BEAT L-A”.  YAY BASEBALL!

63578_10151787095987345_257947756_n

April

My favorite month is April for one simple reason, its my birthday month. I look forward to many more happy times to share. I don’t have any official plans yet but I am brainstorming. I have already been annoying Hartman by rapping, “Thirty-two, thirty-two, watcha gonna do.” Its going to be a long, annoying build up to the end of April for Hartman if I am rappin’ already.

3088_105687597344_6195857_n

Thanks for reading! Stay happy, beautiful people!

One Response to “$0’s for this Sailor”

  1. Connie Centeno Quigley April 4, 2014 at 8:17 am #

    Good read as usually. Always enjoy your updates. Congratulations to Mike on his new job. May God bless both of you. Love you. Grandma Q.

Leave a Reply

