Booty Basement

30 Apr

As my favorite Month comes to a close let’s take a moment to pause and reflect on the happiness in our lives. This blog is about my life but I hope it makes you think about yours too. What’s been bringing a smile to your face? What’s been bringing you joy? Take a deep breath and run through all the things that make your heart pitter patter. Now onto the yumminess of April, my favorite Month of the year…

4

Baseball

Opening night for the Padres did not disappoint. Hartman and I had so much fun watching the Padres beat the Dodgers. We got to the game early and just wandered. I love the sights and smells of the ball park. There is nothing like it. My favorite part of the entire game was watching former Giant, Brian Wilson, implode on the mound. He loaded the bases and then was taken out of the game with no outs. As the crowd roared, “BEAT L-A”, I was overwhelmed with happiness that baseball is back.

1

2

3

Green Tea, Please

I began this month by clearing the air with an old friend that I had fallen out of touch with. It wasn’t an easy thing to do. When I took a step back and looked at how much room was being taken up in my heart by something so negative, I knew letting things go was the healthiest thing we both could do.   I love this quote so much:

“Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.” ~ Buddha

As a stubborn Taurus that hates to admit when she is wrong, I did. I swallowed my pride and talked things out. That is very unlike me and I am proud of both of us for being able to discuss our issues like adults and move forward. Things will never be the same but at the very minimum we don’t have to act like the other person doesn’t exist. As hard as it was to meet and rehash everything, I know we are both feeling much better after our meeting. I left that boulder at the coffee shop and she did too. Onward and upward.

10153825_10152580037437345_3618874130163667274_n

10253823_10152581003197345_1878420830582602726_n

Succulents

I do not have a green thumb. I kill almost every plant I get my hands on. I have had good luck with succulents though. I am as nurturing as a desert. I became inspired to garden when I saw a heart planter at a local nursery. My boyfriend’s nickname is Hartman so naturally I gravitate towards hearts. We went to our favorite local shop in North Park, Pigment, and stocked up on a variety of succulents and I must say the little heart on the bottom of my stoop brings be a jolt of joy every time I look at it. It came out really well. Perhaps the age of my green thumb has arrived.

10153152_10152575045547345_7229277030069844848_n

10154514_10152588374847345_9194447675244838653_n

Thirty Six & Five

Hartman’s brother, Paul, welcomed our niece (his daughter), Sienna Mary, into the world on April 17th, 2009. Since they share the same birthday, it’s a pretty big deal to celebrate every year. We decided to make the journey to Tahoe because turning five is a big big deal (thirty six is too, Paul, wink wink). Spending time with family is always amazing but this trip was especially because my seeeeester, Savann, and nephew, Peyton, were able to make the trip us as well. It was so special to see my nieces and nephew meet for the first time. Sienna and Riley are cute as could be. Peyton loves being outside so he was in heaven in Tahoe. It really is paradise. Watching Uncle Mike in action all weekend was the icing on the delicious rainbow birthday cake. He really does love being Uncle Mike and he’s so good at it with kids crawling all over him.

6

5

10170882_10152598359667345_4383904187369197356_n

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

16

Bride to Be

I got to see my bestie, Smalls, in her wedding dress and she took my breath away. I teared up at the sight of her in her gown. She is going to be the most stunning bride. Seeing her in her dress made it all so much more real that she is taking this major step in life with the most incredible partner. I can’t wait for the wedding in August. Pedro is going to just melt when he sees her coming down the aisle. We enjoyed some much needed girl time and dinner after her fitting. It was great to catch up, just us two, with no boys around.

20140423 226

20140423 224

20140423 225

Thirty Dos

As you know from reading, I love my Birthday. I celebrate it all month. I felt super special arriving to work the day before my birthday because my work bestie, Christine, made me cupcakes and decorated our office. I chose to keep the actually day of my birthday pretty tame this year. Hartman had a company golf tournament the morning of my birthday so I decided to take advantage of flying solo by enjoying yoga and a spa day. One of my favorite instructors, Fallon, was teaching the morning class at Yoga Six. She gave me all sorts of birthday love with adjustments and massages throughout class. I left yoga refreshed and headed to back to back spa treatments. After a massage, facial, mani, and pedi, I felt like a new woman. Mike and I headed to Ironside in Little Italy for dinner. We capped off a perfect day by going to the Whistle Stop in South Park for Booty Basement. All old school hip hop is always a good time. I had no idea how popular Booty Basement had become. The line was around the block. We still got in because my life partner and office roommate, Christine, was already at the front of the line (I apologize to those of you that were stuck outside). The Birthday gods were smiling upon us because no one complained when all 10+ of my crew cut in line. I just love dancing so it was a perfect way to end my first day a year older. Thank you to everyone that took time to wish me a Happy Birthday. Thank you for your calls, texts, Instagrams and Facebook messages. You made me feel like queen for a day.

18

17

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

Juniper & Ivy

My final Birthday celebration was tonight at San Diego’s new place to be, Juniper and Ivy. My college bestie, Mags, and her BF, Jeremy, came to town to soak up some San Diego sunshine. We had a great time (like we always do) and it was so fab for Jeremy and Hartman to meet. I knew they would hit it off smashingly. Smalls and Pedro joined us for dinner as well. There is something so magical about watching besties from different parts of your life vibe. It makes my heart swell with happiness. We had a night full of laughter and incredible food.

10169336_10152629566392345_4148556830400027789_n

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog.

Stay happy, my friends.

10151378_10152612322672345_1783059366265379550_n

2 Responses to “Booty Basement”

  1. Charles Hicks-Moore May 1, 2014 at 10:42 am #

    Nice to see some San Diego area bloggers. Have you ever had Padres season tickets or owned part of one? Have you seen Happier.com? I think it’s right up your alley. http://CoachZero.com Have a wonderful day! 🙂

  2. Mission Valley Resort May 2, 2014 at 6:17 pm #

    Beautiful family you have! And the pictures are gorgeous!!

Leave a Reply

