Summer Fridays

31 Jul

blog-1

July is over. So cray. I can hardly believe it’s about to be the last month of summer. Summer makes me so happy. San Diego weather is normally amazing but this summer it has been EXTRA AWESOME. The weekends have been bright and sunny. The standard ‘May Grey-June Gloom-July Why is It STILL Foggy’ never happened. I am going to maximize the last weeks of summer fun and take full advantage. I am so grateful for this life and the beautiful place I call home.

July was a great month. If friends are the family that you choose, I have made fantastic choices.

Birthday Boy

We started my love’s Birthday celebration at the end of June because his actual birthday fell midweek. We had a quiet celebration day of, just the two of us, at the Patio On Goldfinch. Dinner was delish and we had a lovely time. I made a heath bar ice cream pie for his dessert. It was super yummy. The only problem with making an ice cream pie is that it’s the only thing you want to eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, when it’s sitting in your freezer. I had to cut us off and take the last of it to work to save ourselves from our insatiable cravings for his decadent birthday dessert.

B2

B3

B1

4th of July

Two of our long time forever friends, Joey and Nat, drove down from San Francisco to celebrate the 4th of July with us in San Diego. Our entire weekend was engulfed by surfing and baseball. The Giants were in town playing the Padres. Many new inside jokes were formed over the course of the weekend. One of my favorites was so simple. It truly defines the type of friends we are. On Saturday morning we woke up and started watching ‘Taken 2’. Liam Neeson is the star of the movie. We sat on the couch and made fun of the entire movie. We laughed so hard my stomach hurt. Joey and Nat are two of the greats. We are so lucky to call them close friends after all these years.

J4

j42

J41

Summer Fridays

My company has implemented compressed work weeks for summer. We work nine hour days Monday through Thursday. Since we are working longer hours the first part of the week we only have to work a half day on Friday. I have been taking full advantage of summer Fridays. I have been wearing my bikini to work underneath a dress. I head directly to the beach or a park to lie out and read as soon as my day is done. It has made this summer extra enjoyable. It’s just one more reason to add to the laundry list of why I love my job.

S1

s3

s2

Crown Royal

Another long time forever friend from our Santa Barbara days came to stay with us to kick off his birthday festivities. Oumar is a ray of sunshine. His energy is infectious. I simply adore him. It was an honor to cook him a steak dinner to toast his birthday-ness. It was his first time taking over The Tree House guest room. I hope he will return sooner than later. It was such a pleasure catching up with him. He always brings a smile to my face. HBD Oumar!

O2

o1

#LastFlingInPalmSprings

My best friend is getting married next month to the most amazing guy. Her best girl friends gathered together for a wild weekend in Palm Springs to toast this majorly happy milestone. The weekend was legendary. And that is all I am going to write about that.

P3

P2

P7

P1

P4

P5

Time

I am a firm believer that the most precious thing you can give someone is your time. Whenever I am bopping around town I try to see if my friends are free for a visit. Even if we only have time for a quick chat, I squeeze it in. I had the pleasure of seeing many friends this month and they all were spur of the moment visits. They brought me so much happiness in my heart. I miss my nephew so much and I love spending time with other munchkins that remind me of him. A text of “Hey, do you wanna _______” is all it takes to bring happiness to your day sometimes.

T1

T

T3

T4

Yoga Six

I found my love of yoga in October 2013. I have been obsessed ever since. I completed my hardest Y6 Yoga Challenge this month. I had to take at least two of each type of class they offer. This meant that I had to take the advance classes that I am normally too chicken to take. I am one class away from completing my challenge. By end of day, I will have taken 22 classes this month. I feel incredible. Looking forward to erasing all of my health and wellness next week at my best friend’s wedding.

Y1

August

I am thrilled for August because I get to witness the BEST DAY EVER. My bestie, Smalls, is getting married. So much planning has gone into this wedding and I can’t wait to be in the moment, sipping a glass of champagne, and soaking it all in. It will be magic on another level.

Z1

Thank you

It blows my mind that anyone cares to read about my life. My intention with this blog was to dig myself out of a hole I was stuck in. Looking at the happy moments each month and chronicling it here is my therapy. The fact that anyone cares enough to read really does make me feel special.

As you finish up reading, I hope you take a moment to sit back and think about the happy moments in your life.

Do it.

Ready.

Go.

29

20121228 007

2 Responses to “Summer Fridays”

  1. Connie Centeno Quigley July 31, 2014 at 8:29 am #

    Dear Erin, I always enjoy reading your blog. Looking forward seeing you on Sunday.
    Love you, Grandma Q.

  2. Sue Vogelsanger July 31, 2014 at 3:28 pm #

    Hi Erin,

    You do have a lot of nice friends to help make your life even more fun !!!!
    Keep on keepin’ on.

    Love,
    G’ma Sue

Leave a Reply

