I Blinked

31 Aug

I feel like I blinked and August was over. Snapped my fingers and summer was gone. Life moves so fast. I haven’t really felt like blogging. Sitting in front of a computer hasn’t appealed to me. This blog is going to be short and sweet. Short on words but lots of pictures. That’s how I am rolling for August’s rap up…

Smellon Wedding

My best friend married the love of her life the first week of August. I am going to write a special blog later about the magic that was their wedding. Stay tuned.

12

Road Trippin’

Hartman and I took an entire week off of work and made a road trip out of the Smellon Wedding. We went to Santa Barbara, Santa Maria, San Luis Obispo, Morro Bay, Paso Robles, and Cambria. It was my first time exploring the central coast and I am so glad we made the journey an adventure. Taking time to make life fun is so important. The Granada Hotel in SLO was our favorite new spot we went to on our road trip. It’s a must not miss. We will be back for sure.

17

16

18

20

19

21

22

23

24

25

27

28

26

10356164_10152921103382345_8561886743585423578_n

29

11

10

Soup

Summer colds have been going around. Unfortunately for Hartman, he was sick all of our vacation. He’s a trooper though so he powered through. Since we share everything he gave me his cold as well. I didn’t get sick till I got back. It complicated my week returning to work since I had just been out a full week. I was grateful for a boss that understood how miserable I was feeling. She sent my butt home. I also felt grateful for having legit insurance. My cough was on another level and the meds my doctor prescribed allowed me to stop feeling like my lungs were trying to leave my body. I don’t think I have ever consumed more soup when it was hot out in my life.

8

7

9

Tini’s Bridal Shower

My college bestie, Tini, is getting married in October. When the invitation for her bridal shower arrived in the mail I was thrilled to RSVP Y-E-S. We made a girls weekend out of it. It was the most beautiful shower I have ever been to. It was so incredible to meet so many of the women that she holds near and dear to her heart. It made me so excited for the wedding. That dance floor is going to go off for sure. It makes me so happy to see her so happy. She found her match and it’s a beautiful thing. We have so much to celebrate.

13

14

15

Frenchmen

Some friends from Santa Barbara came to stay with us for a few days. There is a rumor that they may be moving to San Diego. Oumar and Steve are both originally from Paris. Oumar has been in the States for some time now. Steve is still learning English. It was never clearer to me how confusing the way I talk is until I was with someone who is learning English. I use a lot of slang and weird sayings. We had a lot of laughs as I tried to explain the odd way I communicate. My fingers are crossed they will be living here sooner than later. Oumar and I completed the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge while he was here. I naturally wrote a rap along with my donation.

5

o1

6

Labor Day Weekend

Farewell summer. Who am I kidding? I live in San Diego. Its endless summer here. This final ‘official’ weekend has been simply delightful. Hartman and I have been enjoying quality time together. My bestie, Bridge, took me as her plus one to see one of my favorite artists, Jack Johnson (thanks for being busy, Steve). Listening to Jack Johnson instantly takes me back to when Hartman and I first started dating. We used to listen to him all the time. It was so much fun to stand on a giant quilt singing along with the artist himself on a warm summer night. Bridge and I had a good laugh on how our concert going ways have changed as we get older. No longer do we want to be at the front. We are happier in the back on a big blanket with lots of room. We deemed our area the Bermuda Triangle. We kept seeing men lost, holding beer/wine, looking for their friends. They would lap back to us over and over. It was pretty hysterical.

2

4

20140830 006

20140830 010

20140830 014

Jack Johnson

20140830 023

20140830 029

20140830 033

20140831 003

20140831 016

20140831 026

20140831 027

20140831 031

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Be on the lookout for a very special Smellon Wedding blog on the horizon. That was the highlight of my month and is well deserving of its very own blog.

I hope you’re finding happiness is your life. What brought a smile to your face this August? What made you laugh till your belly hurt?

Thank you for reading. xo

Leave a Reply

