The Burst

31 Jan

1601405_10153273918492345_4726710958658575034_n

I’m tipsy. I am writing this blog while drinking wine. It’s happening. This first month of 2015 is over. Is it just me or does life seem to wiz by at lightning speed the older I get.

“The days are long but the years are short.” – Gretchen Rubin

The acclaimed author of the Happiness Project hit the nail on the head.

21050124 067

I am going to try a new format for 2015. Instead of highlighting my entire month I am going to write about the dip and the burst of each month. The dip will be the moment that made my heart sink into my stomach. The burst will be the moment that my heart was bursting with pure joy. I have received some feedback from my family that perhaps my book is a bit too open. I’m going to scale it back to keep things closer to my heart.

21050124 078

The dip for January happened three days ago when the love of my life, Hartman, broke his left foot. The story is so NOT dramatic that everyone I have shared it with has implored me to make up something more exciting. This is what happened…

While at work he had to wait by a mailbox to retrieve mail that was mistakenly mailed. He waited in a light shower of rain for the mailman to arrive. Once he retrieved the mail he headed back to his office feeling AWESOME because he had righted a wrong. Since it was raining he picked up the pace and trotted towards shelter. As he jogged towards his office he tripped on a crack in the sidewalk and rolled his foot. This roll was so painful it took his breath away. Very Hartman like though he proceeded to work for two hours while his foot throbbed in his shoe. When he finally decided to take a look at what he thought was a minor injury he was shocked to learn that his foot had swelled to the size of Andre the Giants. A trip to urgent care confirmed that this roll wasn’t a minor injury; his foot was broken. Naturally while at the hospital being cared for he was still working. Doesn’t every hospital patient inquire if a staffing agency is used for hires? So very Hartman.

I am the world’s worst nurse. Having a broken foot means that certain things can’t be done. Little things like carrying grocery bags and cooking gourmet dinners with port wine reductions won’t be happening until he has recovered. I am going to dig deep and take good care of my man because he deserves the very best. I am grateful that his foot will be as good as new sooner than later. Perhaps this injury is the universes way of telling him to slow down. Fingers crossed for a speedy recovery.

21050124 074

21050124 115

My burst in January was my sweet Nephew’s second birthday. If you are new to my blog, please know I am obsessed with my Nephew, Peyton. Peyton is the coolest little dude. I had the privilege of babysitting the birthday boy by myself. This won’t seem like a big deal to most but to me this is a HUGE deal. Having him all to myself is a luxury. We ran birthday errands in the morning that included purchasing a birthday cake and $50 worth of balloons from Party City (Peyton gets what Peyton wants). I handled most of the day with style and grace with only a few minor meltdowns. Whenever a child spends time with an adult they aren’t used to they love to test the limits on what they can get away with. I wasn’t fazed or fooled by Peyton’s adorableness. His routine ran as normal like a well-oiled machine.

There are so many little things I’d like to document about 2 year old Peyton.

21050124 125

10387395_10153263875062345_5364035980277830686_n

– – – – – – – —

Peyton,

You are enamored with Caillou and Thomas the Train. Your answer to most questions is, “Noooooooooooo”, even if it’s something you like to do. The way you say it is almost like you’re singing your answer. When you say it you crinkle your forehead and shake your head. You love to hold hands and my heart melts every time you reach for it. You are a B-O-Y who loves playing with trucks. You actually refer to all trucks as backhoes. I gifted you a Caillou doll for your birthday and it made me so happy to see you curled up sleeping with it. Unlike last year, you happily devoured both your birthday cakes. You open gifts slowly. You gingerly rip the paper off your gifts as everyone around you urges you to turn into a Tasmanian Devil. Your Dad practiced saying, “Auntie Erin”, with you but it’s still too complicated to whisper across your lips. I loved your effort and took great joy in you pointing my way anytime someone asked where I was. Watching my Parents be your Grandparents is amazing. They adore you and bend to your every whim. I let you eat a cupcake for breakfast one morning. Your Dad wasn’t too thrilled with me about that.

You are the light of my life and I am honored to be your Auntie, sweet boy. Happy 2nd Birthday, Peyon Ryan!

– – – – – – – —

21050124 168

21050124 180

21050124 218

That’s it for January. Time to head to bed.

What was the dip and the burst of your month? May your happy heart stay bursting with gratitude during the dips and the bursts of February.

21050124 231

21050124 232

Leave a Reply

